Lessons Learned: From Hip Pain to Code Debugging - A Tale of Perspective

Last week, I experienced a worrisome health episode. I felt intense pain in my hips after taking a short walk around my neighborhood with my dogs. Naturally, I was filled with panic. Despite being an active individual and engaging in daily workouts, I had previously undergone four surgeries to fix severe foot injuries. Consequently, I had been cautioned about the possibility of early onset arthritis. The hip pain tormented me for an entire week, both physically and mentally. However, it turned out that the source of my agony was simply my worn-out sneakers. This incident reminded me how we often tend to allow ourselves to spiral into a state of doom and automatically expect the worst-case scenario, not only in life but also in programming. This minor scare served as a valuable lesson for me. I will use it as a reminder that the next time something goes wrong in my code, it might just be a matter of making a simple adjustment, much like changing footwear, rather than resorting to a major overhaul like hip replacement surgery.