Interview Fumbles and Real Talk: Unmasking the Creepy Smiles and Robot Scripts!

Interviews can be tough, and it's completely understandable to feel a bit uneasy about them. I haven't met anyone who genuinely loves interviews, whether they're the interviewee or the interviewer. But when you're on the job hunt, interviews become a necessary part of the process. That's why my friends and I have been doing mock interviews to practice.

Even though we're just practicing with no real stakes, we all stumbled. We stumbled over words, said things that sounded totally wrong, read from scripts like robots, wore fake smiles that bordered on creepy, and honestly, we probably looked worse than ChatGPT. But the moment the mock interview ended, we all relaxed. We spoke fluently, smiled genuinely, and our passion for our crafts came shining through. It got me thinking, why is there such a stark difference? I believe a big part of it is that we want to impress the person or people sitting across from us. But do we really have to fake who we are just to make an impression?

So I remind myself: remember, interviews are a way for both parties to get to know each other. It's not just about impressing the interviewer, but also about finding the right fit for you. It's important to be genuine and authentic in your interactions. Sure, you want to present your best self, but that doesn't mean pretending to be someone you're not. Embrace your true personality, let your passion shine, and showcase your skills and experiences honestly.

So, even though interviews can be nerve-wracking, I now try to approach them as an opportunity to have a meaningful conversation and learn more about the company and the role. Showcasing my true self and my genuine enthusiasm for my craft will make a far stronger impression than any rehearsed script or forced smile.

For all of you who are in the same boat as me: hang in there and keep practicing with your friends. The more you embrace your true self, the easier it will become to navigate the interview process. Good luck!